Mehriban Afandiyeva


The first person I thought of, when the Women’s Forum told me about the new column Azeris Abroad, was Mehriban Afandiyeva. You probably wonder why.

Well, you know how while being a junior in high school, you always remember the elder classes. People there seem more confident, attractive, smart, and lucky. However, I’m sure you’ll agree that life usually proves these expectations to be wrong.

I was no exception. The object of my admiration among the seniors was a girl named Mehriban. Years later, social networks reunited us, and of course, she didn’t remember me well. But I did. And it turned out my impression of her had been proved with the years.

So, my first interview will be with this smart, attractive, confident and worth-being-proud-of Azerbaijani lady, currently living in Houston, TX.


Mehriban, please tell us about yourself?

I was born in Baku in 1985, graduated from Tusi gymnasium and entered Secondary high school No.160 in 2000. I followed my mother to the US in 2003 when she accepted a position in Chicago, IL. In 2006 I got accepted to The Fund for American Studies program and moved to the city of my dreams, Washington DC. There graduated from George Mason University with a degree in Economics in May 2009. Shortly after that I joined Marcus & Millichap as a Transaction Analyst in Houston, TX. I am a member of Azerbaijani Women of America and the Board of Directors of the U.S. Azerbaijanis Network (USAN)…

Read more…

  1. Great job!

    Does anyone else think that Mehriban’s arms look a bit scary, though? :))) Must be a photo trick, but looks like they are front to back….

    • The Image
    • January 25th, 2010

    Yes, I do agree with her. First thing you gotta used to, if you want to survive, is being alone (comparing to Azerbaijanis understanding of togetherness) and coping with loneliness (comp-g to Az-s). Not that you can’t have friends. But friendship here in America and there in Azerbaijan is different.
    One more thing. It seems to me Americans tend to be more hypocritical by Az-ni standards. Smile here never means true smile, unless you are sure it is true. It means prosto tak, dejurnaya ulybka. People can hate you but outwardly they would be very polite (unless they are redneck kind of people).
    Gozel yazidi, xanim. Ellerinize sagliq.

  2. Dear ladies! Thanks for your comments. I’m actually really glad you can express your opinion or ask questions about my experience here in US. If you have any questions for me, I’ll be happy to answer them. You can expect 100% honesty “v lob” – no need for fancy definitions, especially online, so please ask whatever comes to your mind. And thanks to Nigar, my role-model, for letting us use her cozy blog for that!

    P.S. I’m planning to keep a daily diary about my trip to Azerbaijan this February. I’m sure I can share even more about my impressions.

    P.S.S. With all greatness of US, I miss Azerbaijan with every part of my soul.

  3. Nigar, thank you for introducing Mehriban to us. I loved every bit of the interview. Great questions, sincere answers. I agree with everything Mehriban said about Azerbaijani and American cultures.

    PS: Scary, I too thought there was something strange about the arms. Mehriban, is it the powder of photoshop or did you do some tricky twist?:) I am inclined to think it is the former:))

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

